The Governing Board of MTW District Health Department

The Board of Health of Martin-Tyrrell-Washington District Health Department is established and maintained as the governing body in accordance with the laws of the State of North Carolina of General Statues 130A-34 through 130A-42.

The Board of Health serves as the global policy-making, rule-making, and adjudicatory body for the district health department. The Board of Health has 15 members.  The commissioners of each county in the district appoint one of their members to the Board of Health. These appointed commissioner members then appoint the other members of the Board including at least one licensed physician licensed to practice in the State of North Carolina, one licensed dentist, one licensed optometrist, one licensed veterinarian, one registered nurse, one licensed pharmacist, and one professional engineer.  If there is not a member of the district available for appointment as designated above, additional representatives of the general public shall be appointed.

When a member of the general public is appointed due to the unavailability of one of the licensed or professional level members shall serve only until a licensed or professional member can be appointed.

The composition of the Board of Health shall reasonably reflect the population makeup of the entire district and provide equitable district-wide representation.  All members shall be residents of the district.

Board of Health Members

Chairman: Judith Wright, RN
                  Retired Health Director

Martin County

  • Derek Price, Martin County Commissioner
  • Denise Edmondson, Registered Nurse
  • Robert M. Stalls, Public Member
  • Ben Jones, Public Member

Tyrrell County

  • Thomas Spruill, Tyrrell County Commissioner
  • Nina Griswell, Public Member

Washington County

  • Jean Alexander, Washington County Commissioner
  • Hannah Rogers, Registered Nurse
  • Dr. Carter Bennett, Dentist
  • Logan Womble, Pharmacist
  • Dr. Robert Venable, Physician
  • Dr. Scott Chandler, Veterinarian